A combination of the Trio sections of Edward Elgarís Pomp and Circumstance Marches No. 1 (in G) and No. 4 (in C) arranged for combined High School Band and String Orchestra.

The orchestration is mostly the same as the original, but optimized to make it easier to combine a High School Orchestra (often just strings) with Band for Commencement or other occasions. The string parts are as in the original except for a few simplifications. Oboe and Bassoon have been reduced to single parts. Tenor and Alto Saxophone parts have been added, mostly doubling the F Horn, and a Baritone Sax part is provided, doubling Bass Clarinet. The Brass section has been reduced to 2 Trumpets, 2 Horns, 2 Trombones and Tuba plus an added Euphonium (Baritone Horn) part. There are 2 Percussion parts (Bass Drum/Cymbals/Triangle and Side Drum) plus Timpani.

The arrangement is easier to read than old parts and facilitates easily repeating or alternating the sections. It begins with an 8-bar INTRO into the Trio from March No. 4. This is followed (at the Coda sign) by the Trio from March No. 1. At the end of this second trio, one can either repeat back to the Trio from March No. 4 (and repeat as needed) or continue on to the Coda (from the ending of March No. 1). One can also jump to the Coda from the Coda sign.

Since this doesn't count as an "arrangement" (according to Sibelius; ask them), the score and parts are offered here as a free download in PDF format. If you find this useful, do visit the score catalogue at http://www.scoreexchange/profiles/jpw to see other compositions and arrangements.

Flute 1
Flute 2
Clarinet 1 in B-flat
Clarinet 2 in B-flat
Bass Clarinet in B-flat
Alto Saxophone in E-flat
Tenor Saxophone in B-flat
Baritone Saxophone in E-flat
Horn 1 in F
Horn 2 in F
Trumpet 1 in B-flat
Trumpet 2 in B-flat
Trombone 1
Trombone 2
Euphonium in B-flat, treble clef
Percussion 1 (Bass Drum, Cymbals, Triangle)
Percussion 2 (Side Drum)
Violin 1
Violin 2